BISD Welcomes Elizabeth Cuellar as its Newest Board of Trustee

BISD Welcomes Elizabeth Cuellar as its Newest Board of Trustee
Posted on 07/20/2017
This is the image for the news article titled BISD Welcomes Elizabeth Cuellar as its Newest Board of Trustee

Brazosport Independent School District welcomes its newest member Elizabeth (Liz) Cuellar to the BISD Board of Trustees. Cuellar was unanimously appointed at the district’s June board meeting to fill the Single Member District 4 position previously held by Troy Brimage, Freeport’s new mayor. District 4 encompasses much of the Freeport area and portions of Oyster Creek, Jones Creek and Surfside.

Liz is a graduate of BISD and has lived in the Brazosport area for more than 50 years. She and Reuben, her husband of thirty years, have three daughters and two sons who are all also graduates of BISD; and four grandchildren. For the past twelve years Cuellar has regularly volunteered on six different campuses within the district and was named Bess Brannen Elementary’s Volunteer of the Year for the 2016-2017 school year. “I have witnessed how unique each and every student is and how they are not only capable of learning, but also of succeeding,” she said.

“Helping to plan the education of our youth is not something I take lightly,” Cuellar explained in her application for the position. “I find satisfaction in energetically confronting tough challenges and working through them for a better outcome.” Mrs. Cuellar took the Oath of Office at the beginning of the July 18 Board meeting.

The Brazosport ISD Board of Trustees is comprised of seven single member district positions. The seven trustees, from separate voting districts, serve staggered three-year terms.

The BISD Board includes:

Mason Howard, Board President
District 7
Term Ends: May 2020

Scott Schwertner, Board Vice President
District 6
Term Ends: May 2020

George R. Sullivan, Board Secretary
District 1
Term Ends: May 2018

Jerry Adkins, Board Assistant Secretary
District 2
Term Ends: May 2018

Patty Sayes, Board Member
District 3
Term Ends: May 2018

Michael Speir, Board Member
District 5
Term Ends: May 2019

Liz Cuellar, Board Member
District 4
Term Ends: May 2019

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.